KNDF Establishes 7th Regiment with Four Battalions


By Kantarawaddy Times

According to Major Maui, Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the Karenni Nationalities Defense Force (KNDF), the 7th Regiment, based in Loikaw and Demoso townships to combat the military junta, is composed of four battalions.

“Our 7th Regiment is composed of four battalions. The four battalions are Battalions 25, 26, 27, and 28. Even before we announced the formation of the regiment, we had already established a base in the Loikaw region. We are aiming to strengthen our presence in Loikaw and Demoso, specifically. Therefore, we formed these battalions and regiments to intensify our operations in those areas” Said Major Maui.

The 7th Regiment was formed in February with the objective of taking control of Loikaw city and recruiting new soldiers. Over 500 new recruits joined this regiment, and a graduation ceremony for them was held on April 30th.

The Karenni Nationalities Defense Force (KNDF), formed after the coup, has already established seven regiments and intends to establish another 8th regiment in the future, Major Maui added.

Currently, the KNDF has a total of 27 battalions under seven regiments, said Tar Eh Soe, KNDF’s information officer.

“The KNDF has battalions numbered from 1 to 28, excluding 13. In other words, we have B0-1 to B-28. We have a total of seven regiments, numbered from 1 to 7,” said Tar Eh Soe.

Soldiers who serve under KNDF are not only stationed on the front lines but also serve in various capacities, including administration, medicine, logistics, and other crucial areas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here