IEC Administers Eight Townships in Karenni State


By Kantarawaddy Times

The Karenni State Interim Executive Council (IEC) has announced the implementation of its administration in eight townships, including seven previously recognised ones and an additional township newly incorporated into Karenni State, according to Khu Oo Reh, the acting chairperson, during the council’s one-year anniversary on June 6.

“Within the span of one year, we have successfully established a people-centric public administration body with relevant representatives, including members from the general public, across eight townships in Karenni State,” stated Khu Oo Reh.

Typically, the township public administration body comprises seven to nine members. Among these, a public administration body has been constituted with four to six civilians representing their respective townships, alongside three representatives from local ethnic armed groups.

Sayar Banyar, the second secretary of the IEC, elaborated on the council’s intention to eventually expand the number of townships in Karenni State to 16.

“We want to have a strong administration in our Karenni state, so we want to establish smaller townships to streamline this process. These will be our interim administration townships. When we enter the transition period, we will reform Karenni State with the relevant townships again. We are attempting to implement a bottom-up federalism and governance approach,” he told Kantarawaddy Times.

In his anniversary speech, Khu Oo Reh emphasized, “IEC is already employing principles of federal democracy based on self-administration, equality, and self-determination rights, to lay a foundation for the future.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here