Four parties’ signs destroyed in Bawlakhae Township

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Kantarawaddy Times

It is reported that four parties’ signboards were destroyed at 8:30 pm on the 5th October in Nang Phe Thar Yar Gone Ward, Bawlakha Township, Kayah State.

The signboards of National Democratic Party (NLD); National Unity Party (NUP); Kayah State Democratic Party (KySDP); and the National Democratic Force (NDF) have been destroyed and all parties’ signboards except the KySDP have been rebuilt.

U Sai Gyi, chairman of the NLD in Bawlakhae Township, said that the NLD’s signboard had been rebuilt on the day of the demolition, and the misunderstanding occurred since KySDP was informed three days later.

“Our party arrived first. Other parties have also awared of this. KySDP may not know it yet. As soon as I found out, I immediately rebuilt the signboard on the next day. Saya Teh Reh’s party have come late. They came late for two-three days, so there was a misunderstanding occurred.”

A resident of Nang Phe, an anonymous who spoke on the incident, said locals had questioned the man who destroyed the signboards, saying he was insane and had signed a pledge not to do it again.

“We asked him to do it with a promise not to do it again. When we asked him why he destroyed the signboards, he replied he did not know what the signboards were built for, so he destroyed with no intention. That’s what he said. As he destroyed all four of the signboards, all four were destroyed. ”

In Bawlakha Township, the current former Union Minister U Soe Thein will contest from the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) and other parties such as NDF, KySDP, UDP, Union Betterment Party (UBP), NUP, National Political Democratic Party (NPDP), and individual nominees will also contest in that region’s constituencies.

There are a total of 7,544 voters in Bawlakhae Township, of which 1216 are from the army.

USDP won one seat in the Pyithu Hluttaw and two seats in the Amyotha Hluttaw, and two seats in the State Hluttaw in 2015 general election in Bawlakha Township.

- Advertisement -

More articles

Latest article

Karenni IDPs Suffering From PTSD

By Kantarawaddy Times Civilians suffering from long-term trauma due to displacement caused by the war in Karenni State need...

Displaced Karenni Civilians Face Funding Shortfall

By Blessing/Kantarawaddy Times Support for civilians uprooted by the war in Karenni State has dried up as the food...

Junta Launches Offensives Ahead Of Polling In Karenni State

By Blessing/Kantarawaddy Times The regime appears to be trying to seize more territory before polling starts for Burma's general...

Hospitals Opened In Karenni Displaced Camps

By Kantarawaddy Times Four of the five hospitals recently opened in displaced camps in Karenni State in areas controlled...

A school that was closed due to the junta’s frequent gunfire still cannot open, and children are psychologically affected

Kay Du (Kantarawaddy Times) Junta forces often fire mortars into civilian areas in the Karenni Land, and there are...